Onsite Educator Professional Development

An essential component of the NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research (OER) mission is to enhance ocean science literacy and enhance understanding why it is important to explore our little-known ocean world. To help fulfill this mission, the NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer Education Materials Collection was developed to encourage educators and their students to become engaged with expeditions and discoveries made by NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer РAmerica’s first Federal ship dedicated to ocean exploration.

Educators are invited to join NOAA OER facilitators for Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA, a seven-hour professional development workshop at partner sites across the country. Participants will learn about the importance of ocean exploration and the advanced technological capabilities used to explore the deep ocean. The workshop will introduce standards-based, hands-on activities and online resources that guide classroom teaching and learning. Participation in this workshop is free for educators, but registration is required and space is limited.

Learn more about the workshop here (pdf, 833 KB).

 

Workshop Schedule

September 28, 2019 New England Aquarium, Boston, Massachusetts
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Rachel Diersen for information:
trc@neaq.org or (617) 973-6590

September 28, 2019 The Great Lakes Aquarium, Duluth, Minnesota
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Mandi Wojciehowski for information:
mwojciehowski@glaquarium.org or 218.740.3474

October 5, 2019 Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland, Oregon
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Nate Lesiuk for more information:
NLesiuk@omsi.edu
WORKSHOP FULL

October 5, 2019 Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach, California
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Katie Sullivan for information:
KSullivan@lbaop.org or (562) 951-5379

October 12, 2019 Birch Aquarium at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, San Diego, California
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Cari Paulenich for information:
cpaulenich@ucsd.edu or (858) 822-1810

October 12, 2019 University of South Florida and Clam Bayou Marine Education Center, St.
Petersburg, Florida
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Angela Lodge for information:
alodge@usf.edu

November 2, 2019 Loveland Living Planet Aquarium, Draper, Utah
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Kristen Smith for information:
kristen.s@thelivingplanet.com or at (801) 355-3474, ext. 256

November 9, 2019 National Aquarium, Baltimore, Maryland
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Joe Harber for information:
jharber@aqua.org or 410-659-4272

November 15, 2019 Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Southern Research, Birmingham, Alabama
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Sara Johnson for information:
sejohnson@disl.org or (251) 861-2141 ext: 7515

November 16, 2019 Georgia Aquarium, Atlanta, Georgia
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Tina Oresteen for information:
toresteen@georgiaaquarium.org or (404) 581-4195

November 16, 2019 Education Service Center Region 10, Dallas, Texas
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Bobette Mauck for information:
Bobette.Mauck@region10.org

November 16, 2019 Albuquerque BioPark
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Debra Cook for information:
dcook@cabq.gov or (505) 848-7172

December 7, 2019 South Carolina Aquarium, Charleston, South Carolina
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Jaime Thom for information:
jthom@scaquarium.org or (843) 579-8562

December 14, 2019 Eco Exploratorio, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Henrick Rivera-Santiago for information:
henrick.rivera@ecoexploratorio.org or (787) 281-9090

If you have previously participated in a Why Do We Explore? and/or How Do We Explore? workshop this professional development offering will be repetitive.

Looking for a list of earlier opportunities? See: