Onsite Educator Professional Development

An essential component of the NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research (OER) mission is to enhance ocean science literacy and enhance understanding why it is important to explore our little-known ocean world. To help fulfill this mission, the NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer Education Materials Collection was developed to encourage educators and their students to become engaged with expeditions and discoveries made by NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer РAmerica’s first Federal ship dedicated to ocean exploration.

Educators are invited to join NOAA OER facilitators for Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA, a seven-hour professional development workshop at partner sites across the country. Participants will learn about the importance of ocean exploration and the advanced technological capabilities used to explore the deep ocean. The workshop will introduce standards-based, hands-on activities and online resources that guide classroom teaching and learning. Participation in this workshop is free for educators, but registration is required and space is limited.

Learn more about the workshop here (pdf, 833 KB).

 

Workshop Schedule

January 12, 2019 Albuquerque BioPark
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Pamela Dupzyk for information:
pdupzyk@cabq.gov or (505) 848-7162
Deadline: December 21, 2018

January 26, 2019 Georgia Aquarium, Atlanta, Georgia
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Tina Oresteen for information:
toresteen@georgiaaquarium.org or (404) 581-4195
Deadline: January 4, 2019

January 26, 2019 Birch Aquarium at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, San Diego, California
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Cari Paulenich for information:
cpaulenich@ucsd.edu or (858) 822-1810
Deadline: January 4, 2019

March 23, 2019 Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach, California
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Katie Sullivan for information:
KSullivan@lbaop.org or (562) 951-5379
Deadline: March 1, 2019

March 23, 2019 Dauphin Island Sea Lab, Dauphin Island, Alabama
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Sara Johnson for information:
sejohnson@disl.org or (251) 861-2141 ext: 7515
Deadline: March 1, 2019

April 6, 2019 National Aquarium, Baltimore, Maryland
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Joe Harber for information:
jharber@aqua.org or 410-659-4272
Deadline: March 15, 2019

April 6, 2019 ESC Region 10, Richardson, Texas
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Bobette Mauck for information:
Bobette.Mauck@region10.org
Deadline: March 25, 2019

April 13, 2019 Baylor University, Waco, Texas
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Melissa Mullins for information:
melissa_mullins@baylor.edu or (254) 210-2382
Deadline: April 1, 2019

April 13, 2019 The Great Lakes Aquarium, Duluth, Minnesota
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Mandi Wojciehowski for information:
mwojciehowski@glaquarium.org or 218.740.3474
Deadline: March 22, 2019

April 20, 2019 Loveland Living Planet Aquarium, Draper, Utah
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Kristen Smith for information:
kristen.s@thelivingplanet.com or at (801) 355-3474, ext. 256
Deadline: March 29, 2019

April 27, 2019 New England Aquarium, Boston, Massachusetts
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Rachel Diersen for information:
trc@neaq.org or (617) 973-6590
Deadline: April 5, 2019

April 27, 2019 South Carolina Aquarium, Charleston, South Carolina
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Jaime Thom for information:
jthom@scaquarium.org or (843) 579-8562
Deadline: April 5, 2019

April 27, 2019 University of South Florida and Clam Bayou Marine Education Center, St. Petersburg, Florida
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Angela Lodge for information:
alodge@usf.edu
Deadline: April 10, 2019

May 11, 2019 Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland, Oregon
Exploring the Deep Ocean with NOAA
Professional Development Workshop for Educators
Contact Nate Lesiuk for more information:
NLesiuk@omsi.edu
WORKSHOP FULL

If you have previously participated in a Why Do We Explore? and/or How Do We Explore? workshop this professional development offering will be repetitive.

Looking for a list of earlier opportunities? See: