Staff Contacts

The NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research (OER) includes a diverse range of staff, organized into a series of teams dedicated to carrying out OER's mission. Staff are located at NOAA headquarters in Silver Spring, Maryland, as well as in field offices around the country.

To help you locate additional information about us and our work, we’ve listed contact information for the leads of our primary work areas below. To locate specific OER staff members, please visit the NOAA Staff Directory.

 

John McDonough
Acting Director
NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1023
John.McDonough@noaa.gov

Karen Kohanowich
Acting Deputy Director
NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research
1315 East West Hwy
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1003
Karen.Kohanowich@noaa.gov

 

Expeditions
Kelley Elliott
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1024
Kelley.Elliott@noaa.gov

Okeanos Explorer Program
Craig Russell
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Tsunami West, Bldg 1
Seattle, Washington 98115
(206) 526-4803
Craig.Russell@noaa.gov

Seafloor Mapping
Elizabeth (Meme) Lobecker
24 Colovos Road
Durham NH 03824
(603) 862-1475
Elizabeth.Lobecker@noaa.gov

Data Management
Sharon Mesick
1021 Balch Blvd., Room 3030
Stennis Space Center, MS 39529
(228) 688-2256
Sharon.Mesick@noaa.gov

For information regarding specific data requests, please visit our data access page.

Science
Nathalie Valette-Silver
1315 East-West Highway, SSMC3
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1047
Nathalie.Valette-Silver@noaa.gov

Marine Archaeology
Frank Cantelas
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1017
Frank.Cantelas@noaa.gov

Technology
Karen Kohanowich
Acting Deputy Director
NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research
1315 East West Hwy
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1003
Karen.Kohanowich@noaa.gov

Public Affairs
Fred Gorell
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1021
Fred.Gorrell@noaa.gov

Website and Social Media
Emily Crum
33 East Quay Road
Key West, Florida 33040
305-809-4700 x224
Emily.Crum@noaa.gov

Education
Paula Keener
Hollings Marine Laboratory
331 Fort Johnson Road
Charleston, SC 29412
(843) 762-8818
Paula.Keener-Chavis@noaa.gov

Resource Management
Milena Seelig
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
(301) 734-1171
Milena.Seelig@noaa.gov

 

Employee Directory
To contact a specific OER employee, please visit the NOAA Staff Directory.

 

Website Questions
For technical questions about this website, send our webmaster a message. For information about content posted on this site, please email us at oceanexplorer@noaa.gov.